Sri Lanka T20 Squad Against Australia 2022

Sri Lanka T20 Squad Against Australia 2022

Matheesha Pathirana, the new Malinga of Sri Lanka, suddenly got a team in the Indian Premier League. Matheesha Pathirana, who was the first undefeated Sri Lankan to get a chance in the IPL, was called up to the national team this time. Apart from Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwanidu Fernando has got a chance in the Sri Lanka T20 Squad against Australia series 2022.

Matheesha Pathirana was in the spotlight for his exceptional bowling style in the age group. As a result, he got a chance in the IPL before being called up for the national team. The 19-year-old, who has taken two wickets in three matches for Chennai Super Kings, has been named to the national team for the first time.

Nuwanidu Fernando has been spotted for the Sri Lanka Emerging Team in England. He has also been called up by the Sri Lankan selectors for the series against Australia. Dhananjaya de Silva, pacer Lahiru Kumara and wicketkeepers Dinesh Chandimal and Niroshan Dickwella were left out of the squad for the series against Australia at home. Kushal Mendis got a chance as a wicketkeeper.

Kasun Rajitha performed brilliantly with the ball in the recently concluded Bangladesh tour. He also got a chance in the squad for the Australian series. Left-arm wrist spinner Lakshan Sandakan is also back. Avishka Fernando and Kushal Perera have been ruled out of the Australian series due to injuries.

Dushmantha Chamira, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Madushanka and Kasun Rajitha will be in the Sri Lankan pace bowling attack against Australia. Matheesha Pathirana has joined them. Wanindu Hasaranga and Mahesh Thiksana will be the main hope of the Lankans’ spin attack. The Sri Lankan team management will rely on these two spinners who are playing well in the IPL.

Sri Lanka will take on Australia in the first T20 of the three-match series on June 7 this year. The remaining two T20s of the series will be held on June 8 and 11. The first two T20 venues will be held in Colombo and the last in Pallekele.

Sri Lanka T20 Squad 2022: Dashun Shanaka (captain), Pathum Nishanka, Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Kushal Mendis, Charith Ashalanka, Vanuka Rajapakse, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunatha, Chamika Karunatha, Mahesh Thiksana, Prabin Jayabikrama, Lakshan Sandakan.


Jeffrey Banders, Niroshan Dickwella.



Also Read: 4 Legendary Cricketers Who Never Captained Team India