Cricket Asia Cup 2022 Schedule to Start from 26 August

Cricket Asia Cup 2022 Schedule to Start from 26 August

Despite the economic crisis, Sri Lanka wants to host the Asia Cup. However, Sri Lanka Cricket and the Asian Cricket Council have not yet announced the schedule for the Asia Cup 2022. However, the Sri Lankan media Financial Times (FT) has reported that the highest cricket tournament in Asia will be screened on August 26 this year.

The ongoing economic turmoil in the country has raised questions about whether Sri Lanka will be able to host the Asia Cup at all. Even Bangladesh and the United Arab Emirates were mentioned as alternative hosts. But then the country said they would host the Asia Cup on time.

According to him, Sri Lanka is playing cricket. De Silva, the chief executive of Sri Lanka Cricket, recently spoke about the Asia Cup in the country’s media. “We will host the Asia Cup on time. Pakistan is coming (left) on July 8. The Lanka Premier League (LPL) will start on July 31. We will host the Asia Cup keeping these schedules in place,” he said.

As this is the year of the T20 World Cup, this year’s Asia Cup will be held in T20 format. As a result, Asian countries will be able to prepare for the World Cup. Sri Lankan media also reported that the host Sri Lanka has been included in the group of Afghanistan and Bangladesh in the upcoming Asia Cup. The high-voltage India-Pakistan match will be played on August 26, the second day of the tournament.

The 16th edition of the Asia Cup will be screened through the final on September 11. Before that, the final selection phase will start on August 21. The most high-voltage match of the tournament, the India-Pakistan match, will also be held on August 28, according to Sri Lankan media.

Bangladesh has not been able to win the Asia Cup so far. The highest success is runners-up in 2012 and 2016. A total of six teams will take part in the Asia Cup. Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan and a team from the qualifiers, including the host Sri Lanka. The Asia Cup is usually held in the ODI format.

However, the first T20 format was in 2016. The last event was in 2016 in ODI format. India became the champion in that event, and Bangladesh became the runners-up.



Also Read: ICC Player of the Month June 2022 Nominees