Top 5 Bowlers with Most Wickets in Powerplay in IPL History

List of Bowlers To Take Most Wickets in Powerplay in IPL – Indian Premier League History

The TATA IPL 2022 season will get underway on March 26th. The tournament kicks off with the Chennai Super Kings taking on the Kolkata Knight Riders in the opening match. Every game relies heavily on powerplay overs. Only two fielders are permitted outside the 30-yard circle in the powerplay overs of the T20 format. This gives the batsmen an opportunity to assault the bowlers. It is possible for a bowler to pick up an important wicket during one of these overs. Here below is the list of bowlers who have taken the most wickets In the powerplay overs in the history of IPL – Indian Premier League:


5 Bowlers with the Most Wickets in Powerplay



1. Sandeep Sharma

It is Sandeep Sharma’s record for most wickets taken in the powerplay overs. As a player for Sunrisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings, Sandeep has been great. Early in the game, he has the ability to swing the bat. He uses the wind’s direction to his advantage. Sandeep has perfected the knack of swinging the white-ball. It’s a shame that this excellent bowler doesn’t get more playing time for India’s national squad. In his 89 innings, he has taken 53 wickets at a bowling average of 27.50.


2. Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvi Kumar knows powerplay overs better than anyone else! Bhuvneshwar has been India’s leading wicket-taker for the past five to six years. So far, he has taken 52 wickets as the “King of Swing.” The wicket of Mohammad Hafeez by Bhuvneshwar Kumar on the first ball of his international career is one that will stick with you forever. Many batters are terrified of his in-swinger. An economy of 7.02 is his average. The Sunrisers Hyderabad received the most of his services.


3. Zaheer Khan

During the 2017 Indian Premier League season, Zak played all the way through. Zaheer played for RCB, Mumbai Indians, and Delhi Capitals throughout his stint in the game. In his pomp, Zaheer Khan was a tough out for any left-handed starting hitter. Even though he has only played eight seasons in the Indian Premier League, he has made this list. This demonstrates the mastery of this genius’s abilities. Zaheer has taken 52 wickets at a cost of just 6.7 runs! Fans will always remember his game-changing over in the ICC ODI World Cup 2011 versus England.


4. Umesh Yadav

Additionally, “Nagpur Express” Umesh Yadav makes the cut. It’s common for this bowler to be mocked for leaking runs in the dying overs, yet his powerplay heroics are overlooked. In the first few years of his career, he was unrealistically suer-quick. Umesh worked on Yadav’s line and length as time went on. With 45 wickets with an economy of 8, he has played 109 innings. Ishan and Surya were both sent out on the same ball by the same bowler in the same innings against the Mumbai Indians in 2018.


5. Dhawal Kulkarni 

The event has only had a handful of players that have been a part of it since its inception. Particularly for bowlers. Dhawal Kulkarni. Dhawal has made a name for himself with the Mumbai Indians, where he spent the majority of his IPL career. The Rajasthan Royals have benefited greatly from his assistance as well. Dhawal swings the ball both ways in the first five overs. Despite his best efforts, his out-swinger was ineffective. It’s a shame Dhawal wasn’t snapped up during the TATA IPL Mega Auction in 2022. In 84 innings, Kulkarni has taken 44 wickets for the team.



Also Read: 5 Bowlers Who Took Wickets on the Last Ball of Their Careers